For investors, not borrowers

P2P Loans Comparison 2026

The best P2P platforms for investors in a regulation check

Last updated: 18 August 2026

P2P loans lure with double-digit returns – but for me the key question isn't the return, it's: who regulates the platform and who owes you your money in the end? This comparison puts 16 platforms to the test – by return, regulation, buyback, minimum investment and risk. Regulated providers are weighted highly, unregulated ones flagged honestly. The research, ratings and data upkeep come from finanzarena – I show which of these I invest in myself.

Which P2P platform suits you?
Five quick questions, then your match.
Our recommendation
Debitum

Licensed with a full buyback obligation

4,7
Return p.a.
up to 15%*
from
€10
To Debitum
1% cashback1% cashback on your investments during the first 30 days via our link, combinable with the four-tier loyalty programme (loyalty bonus up to 2% p.a.).

* Historical return, no guarantee.

The 16 P2P platforms compared

16 platforms at a glance, the top 3 of my selection are highlighted. The star rating per provider is calculated by finanzarena using fixed criteria.

Scroll horizontally for all providers

Tip: pin a provider to keep it up front and compare directly
Comparison of 16 P2P platforms by rating, return, regulation, buyback, minimum investment and more
Provider
Our recommendation
1
Debitum
To provider
1% cashback1% cashback on your investments during the first 30 days via our link, combinable with the four-tier loyalty programme (loyalty bonus up to 2% p.a.).
Broad diversification
2
Mintos
To provider
up to €350 bonusRegistration with the code plus a first investment in the same calendar month, tiered by the amount invested.Code: GO-FINANZARENA
From €1
3
Go & Grow
To provider
€5 bonusRequires a first investment of at least €50.
4
LANDE
To provider
3% cashbackFor new investors via our link in the first 30 days.
5
Lendermarket
To provider
1.5% cashbackRegistration via our link, cashback on investments in the first 90 days.
6
Afranga
To provider
0.5% cashbackRegistration via our link.
7
Monefit SmartSaver
To provider
0.25% cashbackCashback on transfers in the first 90 days, up to €1,250 deposited. No separate welcome bonus.
8
Digilo
To provider
3% cashbackFor new investors via our link (promotion).
9
Indemo
To provider
up to 5.5% cashbackNew-investor bonus via our link, currently up to 5.5% cashback on your investments.
10
Esketit
To provider
0.5% cashbackRegistration via our link.
11
Loanch
To provider
€20 + 1% cashbackFor new investors via our link; plus a loyalty programme with 6 tiers from €3,000 portfolio up to +1.50% interest.
12
Hive5
To provider
1% cashbackRegistration via our link, cashback on every investment.
13
Maclear
To provider
up to 3% cashbackCashback for 90 days, welcome bonus from €50 invested within 7 days.
14
Lonvest
To provider
1% cashbackVia our link, 1% cashback on all investments in the first 90 days.
15
Revest
To provider
up to 1% cashbackNew customer cashback via our link: 1% on business loans, 0.25% on consumer loans (first 90 days).
16
8lends
To provider
30 USDC + 6% tokenNew investor via our link, a first investment required.
Our rating
Very good (4,7)
Very good (4,4)
Very good (4,4)
Good (4,1)
Good (4,0)
Good (3,6)
Satisfactory (3,4)
Satisfactory (3,3)
Satisfactory (3,2)
Satisfactory (3,0)
Adequate (2,9)
Adequate (2,5)
Adequate (2,4)
Adequate (2,1)
Adequate (2,1)
Poor (1,9)
Return p.a.up to 15%*approx. 10.8%*up to 6%*approx. 10-14%*approx. 13.5%*approx. 8-16%*approx. 7.5%*9-12%*15%*approx. 11.8%*up to 15.9%*approx. 12.5%*up to 15.6%*approx. 11.5%*approx. 13.5-16%*approx. 22%*
Min. investment€10€50€1€50€10€10€10€150€10€10€10€10€50€50€10100 USDC (approx. €100)
LocationLatviaLatviaEstoniaLatviaIrelandBulgariaEstoniaLatviaLatviaCroatiaCroatia (loans in Southeast Asia)CroatiaSwitzerlandCroatiaCroatiaOffshore (Canada / SVG)
License / regulation
EU-licensed
MiFID II (investment brokerage)
EU-licensed
MiFID II (investment firm)
Other supervision
The platform itself is not regulated, the parent is EFSA-licensed
EU-licensed
ECSP (EU 2020/1503)
EU-licensed
ECSP licence (C513967)
EU-licensed
ECSP licence (EU 2020/1503)
Other supervision
The platform itself is not regulated, the lender Creditstar is
EU-licensed
ECSP (EU 2020/1503)
EU-licensed
MiFID II (investment firm)
Unlicensed
Unregulated (ECSP applied for)
Unlicensed
None (unregulated)
Unlicensed
No financial licence
Other supervision
PolyReg SRO member (Switzerland)
Unlicensed
No licence (only Croatian commercial register)
Unlicensed
No licence (the operator is explicitly not authorised as an investment firm)
Unlicensed
No financial licence (only AML registration)
SupervisionLatvijas Banka (Latvia)Latvijas Banka (Latvia)EFSA (Estonia) at the level of the parent companyLatvijas Banka (Latvia), with an EU-wide passportCentral Bank of IrelandFinancial Supervision Commission (Bulgaria)No platform licence, the lender Creditstar is licensed in 8 countriesLatvijas Banka (Latvia), with an EU-wide passport since June 2026Latvijas Banka (Latvia)No financial services licence (pre-licensing)No financial supervisionNo financial services supervisionSwiss self-regulation (SRO), no EU/MiFID/ECSP licenceNo financial supervisionNo financial supervisionNo financial supervision (FINTRAC MSB / PolyReg SRO, a pure anti-money-laundering registration)
Loan typesBusiness loans (B2B), partly agricultural and forestryLoans, bonds, real estate, ETFs, Smart CashUnsecured consumer loans (5 markets)Agricultural loans (land, machinery, grain)Consumer and business loans (12 originators)Business loans, and since 2026 also real estateConsumer loans of the Creditstar group (8 countries)Property-secured business loansNon-performing residential property loans from SpainBusiness loans, mortgages, vehicle and long-term loansConsumer loans (Malaysia/Indonesia)Short-term business loans (30-90 days), Linqo product up to 24 monthsSecured EU SME business loans (15+ countries)Consumer and business loans from 3 lenders (Malaysia, Singapore, Mexico)Kazakh consumer loans (25 days) and business loans to the group itself (1 to 24 months)Business loans (P2B) worldwide, only in USDC
Loan termapprox. 3-36 months (per investment)1-120 monthsFlexible, available at any time3-60 months (avg. 21)from 30 days1-60 monthsFlexible; Vaults 12-24 months12-36 monthsEstimated up to approx. 5 years (foreclosure)1-12 monthsNot officially published30 days to 24 monthsapprox. 9-14 months1, 3, 6 or 12 months25 days (consumer), 1 to 24 months (business)4-16 months (bullet repayment)
Buyback / protectionYesYesNoNoYesNoNoNoNoYesYesYesPartialPartialPartialPartial
Secondary marketNoYesNot applicableYesNoNoNot applicableNoNoYesNoNoYesNoYesYes
LiquidityClassic ABS locked until maturity; the separate Debitum Flow product (8% p.a.) allows withdrawal requests of up to EUR 1,000 next business day / EUR 5,000 per week with no exit fee, but with no withdrawal guaranteeSmart Cash daily; loans via the secondary market (0.85%)Near-instant access (Go & Grow), practically without limitLocked until maturity; early exit only via the secondary market (no guarantee)FLEX: early exit by giving up 50% of the annual interestSaveSmart: up to 30% early (1% fee), loans lockedAvailable daily (instant up to €1,000/month)Locked until maturity (12-36 months), no secondary market and no buybackLocked until recovery, no early exitCash-out/secondary market, but the provider can deactivate itIlliquid, capital generally locked until loan maturity; no guaranteed early exitLocked until maturity, no secondary marketExit via the secondary market (2.5% fee, market-dependent)Locked until the end of the term, no secondary market; early exit only with the lender's consent and at the cost of all interestConsumer loans are short at 25 days; otherwise exit is via the secondary market (since 03/09/2026, face value only, only through auto-invest, not guaranteed to be available)Only via a thin secondary market; per the T&Cs, locked until maturity
Default rate0% (provider figure)Yes, rate not public0% (provider figure)Yes, around 4.8% (by volume); Art. 20 ECSPR rate 2025: 5.61%0% (provider figure)0% (provider figure)n/aNo meaningful rate: no loan has matured yetn/a0% (provider figure)No default rate published; per its own statistics page, at Tambadana 21.9% of investments are 1-15 days and 21.64% are 16-30 days overdue (live check 27.08.2026)n/aYes, 1 default, fully recoveredn/an/an/a
Investor capital lossesNo, none documentedYes, loss year 2022, individual originators defaultedNo, withdrawal queue in 2020, no capital lossNo investor capital losses reported (provider figure, not externally confirmed); defaults in recoveryPartly, pending-payments crisis 2022-24 (resolved)No, none documentedNo, none documentedNone reported, but without significance, because no loan has matured yetNo realised investor losses, a young platform, so far only a rising marketNo, none documentedNo documented capital lossesNo, none documentedNo, 1 default in 2025, 100% recoveredNo documented investor losses; according to the platform, no payout delays since 2023No documented investor losses, but the platform has only been active since December 2025No, none documented (a young platform)
Operator profitableYes, provider figureNo, group loss of €2.74 million (2024)Yes, profitable since 2017Yes, audited (profit 2024: €196,086, 2025: €206,485)No, loss of around €300,000 (2024)Partly, the parent Stikcredit is profitablePartly, the parent Creditstar is profitableNot officially disclosed (operator founded in 2024, pilot phase)Operator Indemo SIA at a loss in 2025 (around €0.69 million), going concern with an unqualified audit opinionNo figure, no public figuresUnknown, no audited platform figures (operator: €5,000 share capital)No, going-concern note (2024)No, loss in 2024, negative equityOnly the 2025 annual accounts are filed in the register; the Space Crew Finance group does not disclose audited figuresThe operator is a company with EUR 2,500 share capital and no figures of its own; the lenders report profits that, per their own reports, stem largely from provision releases and currency gains (operationally negative)No figure, an offshore operator, no figures
Auto-investYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesNo
Payment methodsCard, open banking, SEPA (EUR only)SEPA/Sofort free, card and Apple/Google Pay (2%)SEPA transfer onlySEPA transfer, Pay by Bank (instant)SEPA (EUR only), cardBank transfer (Lemonway), no cardSEPA free, card and Apple Pay (1%)Transfer from your own account (wallet via Lemonway)SEPA (EUR only)Bank transfer from an EU accountBank transferSEPA transfer onlyBank transfer (EUR)SEPA in euros only (no card), withdrawal limit €5,000 per weekSEPA in euros only from your own account, minimum withdrawal EUR 50Only USDC via a crypto wallet (Base network)
Platform💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖💻📱🤖
FeesDeposits and withdrawals free of chargeAccount free, inactivity €4.90/month, sale 0.85%Withdrawal €1 flat, otherwise free of chargeNo investor fees, free withdrawal1st withdrawal per month free, then €2Free of charge for investorsSEPA free of charge, card payment 1%No investor fees except €1 per withdrawalInvesting, deposits and withdrawals free, inactivity fee €2.90/monthNo platform fees0% platform feesn/aDeposits/withdrawals 0%, sale 2.5%Investing, deposits and withdrawals are free (the terms allow for a future service fee)Investing, deposits and withdrawals are free (the terms allow for future service fees)No platform fee for investors (only gas fee); the 3% is borne by the borrower
Investors / volume34,700+ investors · €223 million funded700,000+ users · €12.8bn funded500,000+ investors · €2.1bn invested11,158 investors · €63.5 million funded29,000+ investors · €657 million funded€38 million invested48,000+ investors · €450 million paid in200 registered investors · around €83,000 financed (4 projects)23,000+ investors · over €37 million invested€979 million invested16,000 investors · €110.8 million cumulatively invested · €11.8 million outstanding portfolio (own figure, 27.08.2026)29,000+ investors · €182 million funded41,000+ investors · €114 million funded1,025 investors · around €2.2 million outstanding portfolio (€3.7 million cumulative)679 active investors · around €3.0 million outstanding portfolio (€10.6 million cumulative)2,620 investors · around 19.7m USD funded (8lends only, as of 25.08.2026)
Founded2019201520082019 (as LendSecured)2018202320222024 (first project June 2026)2022 (operating since November 2023)20202024n/a202220232025 (platform live since December 2025)2025
SpecificsA licensed niche for business loans, with 0% default so far according to its own figuresThe broadest offering, a licensed marketplace and wide diversification across many lendersA very simple entry from €1, in return capped at a maximum of 6%Real collateral (property/registered pledge) instead of a buyback promise, a conservative loan-to-valueA high target return on short-term consumer loansA regulated ECSP structure with a high returnA flexible, daily-available product with a very high Trustpilot ratingA regulatorily clean ECSP newcomer, but only four financed projects and around €83,000 total volumeDiscloses the annual accounts of the Spanish recovery firms, unusually transparent, but with no fixed rate and no liquidityAn attractive return and a broad originator networkHigh advertised interest, but unregulated and internally intertwined within the group (the Fingular group)A high return and short termsA high Trustpilot rating and a strong bonus stack, but only a Swiss SRO instead of an EU licenceSmall, unregulated platform from the Space Crew group (structurally like Robocash in miniature), three in-house lenders, buyback after 90 daysStructurally a Robocash clone: an unregulated refinancing channel for a Kazakh lending group, three in-house lenders, buyback from 31 daysCrypto crowdlending (USDC/Base), no licence, contradictory own documents, buyback only in the marketing, an illiquid reward token
Warnings––––Strong concentration risk: 7 of 12 originators belong to the Creditstar groupPersonally closely intertwined with the main lender Stikcredit–Pilot operation: only 4 financed projects, no loan matured yet, no buyback, no secondary market–The majority of the lenders belong to the founders themselvesIn 2026, a deposit/withdrawal freeze of around three months after the payment provider lost its licence; strong concentration in one dominant originatorNegative equity of around €1.27 millionNo audited platform figures and no portfolio or performance metrics disclosedUnregulated (no licence), buyback in the contract only as a right of the lender, group guarantee without contractual text; the underlying value depends on an undisclosed group.Unregulated and self-dealing: one owner controls the platform, all lenders and the buyback; the underlying value depends entirely on this group, whose lenders operate at an operating loss.Operator details inconsistent (Canada per the T&Cs vs. SVG per the glossary), the homepage figure reflects the corporate group, not the platform alone
Offer
To provider
1% cashback1% cashback on your investments during the first 30 days via our link, combinable with the four-tier loyalty programme (loyalty bonus up to 2% p.a.).
To provider
up to €350 bonusRegistration with the code plus a first investment in the same calendar month, tiered by the amount invested.Code: GO-FINANZARENA
To provider
€5 bonusRequires a first investment of at least €50.
To provider
3% cashbackFor new investors via our link in the first 30 days.
To provider
1.5% cashbackRegistration via our link, cashback on investments in the first 90 days.
To provider
0.5% cashbackRegistration via our link.
To provider
0.25% cashbackCashback on transfers in the first 90 days, up to €1,250 deposited. No separate welcome bonus.
To provider
3% cashbackFor new investors via our link (promotion).
To provider
up to 5.5% cashbackNew-investor bonus via our link, currently up to 5.5% cashback on your investments.
To provider
0.5% cashbackRegistration via our link.
To provider
€20 + 1% cashbackFor new investors via our link; plus a loyalty programme with 6 tiers from €3,000 portfolio up to +1.50% interest.
To provider
1% cashbackRegistration via our link, cashback on every investment.
To provider
up to 3% cashbackCashback for 90 days, welcome bonus from €50 invested within 7 days.
To provider
1% cashbackVia our link, 1% cashback on all investments in the first 90 days.
To provider
up to 1% cashbackNew customer cashback via our link: 1% on business loans, 0.25% on consumer loans (first 90 days).
To provider
30 USDC + 6% tokenNew investor via our link, a first investment required.
1Debitum
Our recommendation
Very good (4,7)
To provider
1% cashback1% cashback on your investments during the first 30 days via our link, combinable with the four-tier loyalty programme (loyalty bonus up to 2% p.a.).
License / regulation
EU-licensed
MiFID II (investment brokerage)
Return p.a.
up to 15%*
Min. investment
€10
Location
Latvia
Buyback / protection
Yes
Secondary market
No
Liquidity
Classic ABS locked until maturity; the separate Debitum Flow product (8% p.a.) allows withdrawal requests of up to EUR 1,000 next business day / EUR 5,000 per week with no exit fee, but with no withdrawal guarantee
2Mintos
Broad diversification
Very good (4,4)
To provider
up to €350 bonusRegistration with the code plus a first investment in the same calendar month, tiered by the amount invested.Code: GO-FINANZARENA
License / regulation
EU-licensed
MiFID II (investment firm)
Return p.a.
approx. 10.8%*
Min. investment
€50
Location
Latvia
Buyback / protection
Yes
Secondary market
Yes
Liquidity
Smart Cash daily; loans via the secondary market (0.85%)
3Go & Grow
From €1
Very good (4,4)
To provider
€5 bonusRequires a first investment of at least €50.
License / regulation
Other supervision
The platform itself is not regulated, the parent is EFSA-licensed
Return p.a.
up to 6%*
Min. investment
€1
Location
Estonia
Buyback / protection
No
Secondary market
Not applicable
Liquidity
Near-instant access (Go & Grow), practically without limit
4LANDE
Good (4,1)
To provider
3% cashbackFor new investors via our link in the first 30 days.
License / regulation
EU-licensed
ECSP (EU 2020/1503)
Return p.a.
approx. 10-14%*
Min. investment
€50
Location
Latvia
Buyback / protection
No
Secondary market
Yes
Liquidity
Locked until maturity; early exit only via the secondary market (no guarantee)
5Lendermarket
Good (4,0)
To provider
1.5% cashbackRegistration via our link, cashback on investments in the first 90 days.
License / regulation
EU-licensed
ECSP licence (C513967)
Return p.a.
approx. 13.5%*
Min. investment
€10
Location
Ireland
Buyback / protection
Yes
Secondary market
No
Liquidity
FLEX: early exit by giving up 50% of the annual interest
Warnings

Strong concentration risk: 7 of 12 originators belong to the Creditstar group

6Afranga
Good (3,6)
To provider
0.5% cashbackRegistration via our link.
License / regulation
EU-licensed
ECSP licence (EU 2020/1503)
Return p.a.
approx. 8-16%*
Min. investment
€10
Location
Bulgaria
Buyback / protection
No
Secondary market
No
Liquidity
SaveSmart: up to 30% early (1% fee), loans locked
Warnings

Personally closely intertwined with the main lender Stikcredit

7Monefit SmartSaver
Satisfactory (3,4)
To provider
0.25% cashbackCashback on transfers in the first 90 days, up to €1,250 deposited. No separate welcome bonus.
License / regulation
Other supervision
The platform itself is not regulated, the lender Creditstar is
Return p.a.
approx. 7.5%*
Min. investment
€10
Location
Estonia
Buyback / protection
No
Secondary market
Not applicable
Liquidity
Available daily (instant up to €1,000/month)
8Digilo
Satisfactory (3,3)
To provider
3% cashbackFor new investors via our link (promotion).
License / regulation
EU-licensed
ECSP (EU 2020/1503)
Return p.a.
9-12%*
Min. investment
€150
Location
Latvia
Buyback / protection
No
Secondary market
No
Liquidity
Locked until maturity (12-36 months), no secondary market and no buyback
Warnings

Pilot operation: only 4 financed projects, no loan matured yet, no buyback, no secondary market

9Indemo
Satisfactory (3,2)
To provider
up to 5.5% cashbackNew-investor bonus via our link, currently up to 5.5% cashback on your investments.
License / regulation
EU-licensed
MiFID II (investment firm)
Return p.a.
15%*
Min. investment
€10
Location
Latvia
Buyback / protection
No
Secondary market
No
Liquidity
Locked until recovery, no early exit
10Esketit
Satisfactory (3,0)
To provider
0.5% cashbackRegistration via our link.
License / regulation
Unlicensed
Unregulated (ECSP applied for)
Return p.a.
approx. 11.8%*
Min. investment
€10
Location
Croatia
Buyback / protection
Yes
Secondary market
Yes
Liquidity
Cash-out/secondary market, but the provider can deactivate it
Warnings

The majority of the lenders belong to the founders themselves

11Loanch
Adequate (2,9)
To provider
€20 + 1% cashbackFor new investors via our link; plus a loyalty programme with 6 tiers from €3,000 portfolio up to +1.50% interest.
License / regulation
Unlicensed
None (unregulated)
Return p.a.
up to 15.9%*
Min. investment
€10
Location
Croatia (loans in Southeast Asia)
Buyback / protection
Yes
Secondary market
No
Liquidity
Illiquid, capital generally locked until loan maturity; no guaranteed early exit
Warnings

In 2026, a deposit/withdrawal freeze of around three months after the payment provider lost its licence; strong concentration in one dominant originator

12Hive5
Adequate (2,5)
To provider
1% cashbackRegistration via our link, cashback on every investment.
License / regulation
Unlicensed
No financial licence
Return p.a.
approx. 12.5%*
Min. investment
€10
Location
Croatia
Buyback / protection
Yes
Secondary market
No
Liquidity
Locked until maturity, no secondary market
Warnings

Negative equity of around €1.27 million

13Maclear
Adequate (2,4)
To provider
up to 3% cashbackCashback for 90 days, welcome bonus from €50 invested within 7 days.
License / regulation
Other supervision
PolyReg SRO member (Switzerland)
Return p.a.
up to 15.6%*
Min. investment
€50
Location
Switzerland
Buyback / protection
Partial
Secondary market
Yes
Liquidity
Exit via the secondary market (2.5% fee, market-dependent)
Warnings

No audited platform figures and no portfolio or performance metrics disclosed

14Lonvest
Adequate (2,1)
To provider
1% cashbackVia our link, 1% cashback on all investments in the first 90 days.
License / regulation
Unlicensed
No licence (only Croatian commercial register)
Return p.a.
approx. 11.5%*
Min. investment
€50
Location
Croatia
Buyback / protection
Partial
Secondary market
No
Liquidity
Locked until the end of the term, no secondary market; early exit only with the lender's consent and at the cost of all interest
Warnings

Unregulated (no licence), buyback in the contract only as a right of the lender, group guarantee without contractual text; the underlying value depends on an undisclosed group.

15Revest
Adequate (2,1)
To provider
up to 1% cashbackNew customer cashback via our link: 1% on business loans, 0.25% on consumer loans (first 90 days).
License / regulation
Unlicensed
No licence (the operator is explicitly not authorised as an investment firm)
Return p.a.
approx. 13.5-16%*
Min. investment
€10
Location
Croatia
Buyback / protection
Partial
Secondary market
Yes
Liquidity
Consumer loans are short at 25 days; otherwise exit is via the secondary market (since 03/09/2026, face value only, only through auto-invest, not guaranteed to be available)
Warnings

Unregulated and self-dealing: one owner controls the platform, all lenders and the buyback; the underlying value depends entirely on this group, whose lenders operate at an operating loss.

168lends
Poor (1,9)
To provider
30 USDC + 6% tokenNew investor via our link, a first investment required.
License / regulation
Unlicensed
No financial licence (only AML registration)
Return p.a.
approx. 22%*
Min. investment
100 USDC (approx. €100)
Location
Offshore (Canada / SVG)
Buyback / protection
Partial
Secondary market
Yes
Liquidity
Only via a thin secondary market; per the T&Cs, locked until maturity
Warnings

Operator details inconsistent (Canada per the T&Cs vs. SVG per the glossary), the homepage figure reflects the corporate group, not the platform alone

Return figures are average values observed by the platform in the past and are no guarantee for the future. Default rates are provider figures and are not directly comparable with one another. P2P investments carry the risk of partial or total loss and are not covered by the deposit guarantee scheme.

Advertising / affiliate: This comparison table contains affiliate links (marked * or “To provider”). If you click and sign up for a product, we or finanzarena may receive a commission – at no extra cost to you. The selection, rating and order of providers are independent of this and are maintained by finanzarena using fixed criteria. This is not investment advice.

The 16 P2P platforms in detail

In order of rating. Each provider shows its regulation status as a badge. The detailed assessment comes from the finanzarena data source – where I invest myself, I link my own in-depth review.

1
Debitum
EU-licensed4,7
Return: up to 15%*From: €10Buyback: YesHQ: 🇱🇻 Latvia

Debitum is one of the few P2P lending platforms with a genuine investment brokerage licence under the MiFID II framework and supervision by the Latvian central bank. You invest in secured business loans structured as asset-backed securities via a wholly owned subsidiary. You can start from €10.

The protection is comparatively strong, with a 100% buyback obligation and skin in the game from the lenders. Even so, buyback is an obligation of the originator, not external capital protection. The 0% default rate stated so far is a look back, not a guarantee for the future. There is no real secondary market yet.

Pros
  • Investment brokerage licence (MiFID II) supervised by Latvijas Banka
  • 100% buyback obligation with skin in the game
  • Entry from just €10
  • 0% default to date according to its own figures
Cons
  • No secondary market, capital is locked until repayment
  • Focus on business loans, less diversification than Mintos
  • Buyback is an originator obligation, not an insurance
2
Mintos
EU-licensed4,4
Return: approx. 10.8%*From: €50Buyback: YesHQ: 🇱🇻 Latvia

For us, Mintos is a standout all-rounder in the comparison, because as a licensed MiFID II investment firm it is supervised by the Latvian central bank while also offering one of the widest selections by far. Alongside classic loans, you can invest here in bonds, real estate, ETFs and an interest-bearing cash product, all from €50 and spread broadly across many lenders.

One important nuance: the MiFID licence and the investor compensation of up to €20,000 protect you against certain breaches of duty by the platform, but not against the default of individual loans. The buyback obligation comes from the respective lender and is not an insurance. The fact that a negative annual result was possible in 2022 shows that the return is real, but it fluctuates.

Pros
  • Licensed MiFID II investment firm supervised by Latvijas Banka
  • One of the widest selections: loans, bonds, real estate, ETFs and cash
  • Broad diversification across many lenders from €50
  • Secondary market for more flexibility
Cons
  • The buyback comes from the lender, there is no external protection
  • Historically also a loss year (2022) and some originator defaults
  • Inactivity fee if the account sits idle
3
Go & Grow
National / other supervision4,4
Return: up to 6%*From: €1Buyback: NoHQ: 🇪🇪 Estonia

Go & Grow is Bondora's automatic loan-portfolio product and a particularly beginner-friendly solution, more a P2P-style loan-portfolio alternative than a classic loan-picking platform. You invest from €1 in an automatically diversified portfolio and the target return is up to 6%. By design, there is no option to pick individual loans.

A nuance worth noting: it is the parent company Bondora AS that is regulated, by the Estonian supervisor; the Go & Grow entity itself is not. The model is based on an assignment of claims, there is no classic buyback but an internal cash reserve buffer, and no deposit guarantee scheme. In return, the return is capped at 6%.

Pros
  • A very simple entry from €1, ideal for beginners
  • Fully automatic diversification without your own loan picking
  • A large, established user base
Cons
  • Return capped at a maximum of 6%
  • The product entity itself is not regulated (only the parent)
  • No buyback and no secondary market
4
LANDE
EU-licensed4,1
Return: approx. 10-14%*From: €50Buyback: NoHQ: 🇱🇻 Latvia

LANDE is a Latvian crowdlending platform for agricultural loans in the Baltics and Eastern Europe, and as an ECSP-licensed platform it is supervised by the Latvian central bank, with an EU-wide passport. Instead of a buyback promise, the loans are usually backed by real collateral: a property lien on farmland, a registered pledge on machinery or a guarantee. Some loans are instead covered by a guarantee from the European Investment Fund (EIF). The conservative loan-to-value, at 42% on average, is the real protection.

An important nuance: LANDE deliberately offers no buyback. If a loan defaults, there is no quick money from the lender, but the recovery of the collateral, which can take months to years. The disclosed default rate is around 4.8% by volume. No investor capital losses are reported so far, though that is a provider figure and not externally confirmed.

Pros
  • ECSP-licensed (Latvijas Banka) with an EU-wide passport
  • Real collateral or an EIF guarantee instead of a buyback promise (average LTV of 42%)
  • Profitable per audited accounts, no investor fees
  • Default rates disclosed under Art. 20 ECSPR, with a secondary market
Cons
  • No quick buyback, recovery of the collateral takes months to years
  • Capital locked until maturity, early exit only via the secondary market
  • A young, smaller platform, with some legacy in Romania and in machinery
5
Lendermarket
EU-licensed4,0
Return: approx. 13.5%*From: €10Buyback: YesHQ: 🇮🇪 Ireland

Lendermarket has held an ECSP licence from the Irish central bank since the end of 2024, which lets it operate across the EU. The target returns, with a weighted average around 13%, are among the higher ones in the comparison, entry is from €10 and new investors receive 1.5% cashback via our link.

To be honest, two points belong to the picture: Lendermarket works with a dual structure, a regulated crowdfunding service and a separate, unregulated claims service. And a large share of the originators belongs to the Creditstar group, which means a noticeable concentration risk. According to its own Risk Disclosure there is no deposit guarantee scheme and no investor compensation.

Pros
  • ECSP licence from the Central Bank of Ireland, with passporting across the EU
  • High target return and low minimum investment from €10
  • Early exits possible in the FLEX portfolios
Cons
  • Concentration risk: most originators from the Creditstar group
  • Dual structure of a regulated and an unregulated service
  • No real secondary market, partly long lock-ups
6
Afranga
EU-licensed3,6
Return: approx. 8-16%*From: €10Buyback: NoHQ: 🇧🇬 Bulgaria

Afranga is a spin-off of the Bulgarian lender Stik-Credit and works with a clean ECSP structure supervised by the Bulgarian Financial Supervision Commission. Entry is from €10 and new investors receive 0.5% cashback via our link in the first 90 days.

The most important difference from many competitors: Afranga offers no buyback mechanism. The default risk therefore lies directly with the investor. On top of that, some of the lenders are close to the group, and the secondary market is not yet live. The ECSP licence brings standardised investor-protection rules, but no deposit guarantee scheme on the capital you invest.

Pros
  • ECSP licence supervised by the Bulgarian financial regulator
  • The SaveSmart fixed-rate product as a plannable option
  • Low minimum investment from €10
Cons
  • No buyback, the default risk lies directly with the investor
  • Some lenders close to the group
  • No secondary market, Trustpilot rating still thin
7
Monefit SmartSaver
National / other supervision3,4
Return: approx. 7.5%*From: €10Buyback: NoHQ: 🇪🇪 Estonia

Monefit SmartSaver is less a classic P2P lending platform than a flexible savings product: the main account, with a target return of 7.5%, is available daily, and the fixed Vaults offer higher target values. With a 4.7 Monefit has the highest Trustpilot rating in the comparison and a large user base.

On regulation it is worth a close look: as with Bondora, the platform entity itself is not regulated, but behind it stands the Creditstar group as lender, licensed in eight countries. Your money flows into its consumer loan portfolio via an assignment of claims. There is no deposit guarantee scheme. On the plus side, the capital sits in a separate SmartSaver account. The rising debt load of the Creditstar group is worth keeping in mind. Returns are target values, not guaranteed interest.

Pros
  • The highest Trustpilot rating in the comparison (4.7)
  • A daily-available main account, very flexible
  • Capital in a separate SmartSaver account
Cons
  • The platform entity itself is not regulated (only the lender is licensed)
  • Dependence on the Creditstar group (rising debt load)
  • Vaults cannot be sold early
8
Digilo
EU-licensed3,3
Return: 9-12%*From: €150Buyback: NoHQ: 🇱🇻 Latvia

Digilo is a young Latvian crowdlending platform for property-secured business loans, and as an ECSP-licensed platform it is supervised by the Latvian central bank (Latvijas Banka), with an EU-wide passport since June 2026. Investors give the loan directly to the borrowing company, each project is secured with a property lien (LTV of at most 60% per the provider) and managed via a security agent. Structurally this resembles the LANDE model.

The decisive point for assessing it is the early stage: Digilo has so far financed only four projects worth around €83,000, the first in June 2026, and not a single loan has matured yet. The disclosed default rate of zero percent therefore has no significance. There is expressly no buyback and no secondary market either, so your capital is locked until the end of the term of 12 to 36 months.

Pros
  • ECSP-licensed (Latvijas Banka) with an EU-wide passport
  • Each project secured with a property lien (LTV of at most 60% per the provider)
  • Investor lends directly to the borrowing company (no risky intermediate construction)
  • No investor fees except €1 per withdrawal
Cons
  • Pilot operation: only 4 projects worth around €83,000, no loan matured yet
  • No buyback and no secondary market, capital locked for 12 to 36 months
  • No deposit guarantee scheme, operator profitability not disclosed
9
Indemo
EU-licensed3,2
Return: 15%*From: €10Buyback: NoHQ: 🇱🇻 Latvia

Indemo is a Latvian investment firm under MiFID II supervision by Latvijas Banka. Unlike classic P2P lending, Indemo sells shares in non-performing Spanish property loans, which a Spanish partner buys from banks at a high discount and recovers through foreclosure. There is no fixed interest rate and no monthly payment, but a payout at the end, whose amount and timing are both open.

The investor protection is narrower than the advertising suggests: the investor compensation of up to €20,000 covers only the case where Indemo itself does not return your money, not a poor recovery or falling property prices. The official KID classifies the product in risk class 6 of 7. There is no buyback, but with an already defaulted loan that is inherent to the system: the collateral is the property, not a promise by the platform.

Pros
  • A MiFID II investment firm supervised by Latvijas Banka
  • Property as collateral instead of a buyback promise, unusually transparent
  • Entry from €10, free investing and deposits/withdrawals
Cons
  • No fixed rate, no monthly payment, payout only at the end of the recovery
  • No liquidity: no secondary market, no early exit, capital locked for several years
  • The operator works at a loss, risk class 6 of 7, focus only on Spain
10
Esketit
Unlicensed3,0
Return: approx. 11.8%*From: €10Buyback: YesHQ: 🇭🇷 Croatia

Esketit offers an attractive average return of around 11.8% and a buyback by the lenders. The platform is closely interlinked with its lenders and is backed by a strategic shareholder from the banking sector. Entry is from €10.

The decisive point for assessing it: according to its own footer, Esketit is not regulated by a financial services licence, though an ECSP licence has been applied for. The model is based on an assignment of claims. In addition, there was a change of registered office to Croatia in 2025, during which some funds were temporarily frozen. This platform is therefore better suited to experienced investors who can weigh the risk.

Pros
  • An attractive average return with buyback by the lenders
  • A strategic shareholder from the banking sector
  • Low minimum investment from €10
Cons
  • No financial services licence (ECSP only applied for)
  • Change of registered office in 2025 with funds temporarily frozen
  • No regulatory investor protection
11
Loanch
Unlicensed2,9
Return: up to 15.9%*From: €10Buyback: YesHQ: 🇭🇷 Croatia (loans in Southeast Asia)

Loanch is a marketplace for assigned claims from consumer loans in Malaysia and Indonesia, operated by a Croatian company. It advertises up to 15.9% APR, its own statistics page quotes 14.75% average return, and the originator averages run at 11 to 13.82%. The protection comes via a buyback obligation of the respective lender, stated as 30 days in the marketing but as 60 days in the binding Risk Statement, and according to Loanch it does not apply to all offers.

The central point of criticism is the structure: Loanch is unregulated, there is no ECSP, MiFID or banking licence and no deposit guarantee scheme. The marketplace, all originators and the buyback guarantee belong to the same Fingular group, so there is no independent counterparty. The buyback guarantee is therefore worth only as much as this one group, and on top comes a strong concentration in one dominant originator.

Pros
  • High interest (up to 15.9% advertised, 14.75% average return per its own statistics)
  • 30-day buyback by the originator, a low minimum investment (€10), no fees
  • Buybacks served so far, no documented capital losses (provider figure)
Cons
  • Unregulated, no deposit guarantee scheme, no financial supervision
  • Self-dealing: the marketplace, originators and buyback belong to the Fingular group
  • In 2026, around three months of a deposit/withdrawal freeze, strong concentration in one originator
12
Hive5
Unlicensed2,5
Return: approx. 12.5%*From: €10Buyback: YesHQ: 🇭🇷 Croatia

Hive5 draws investors with a high average return of around 12.5%, mostly short terms of 30 to 90 days (up to 24 months with the Linqo product) and a well-rated support. New investors receive 1% cashback via our link in the first 90 days, and a loyalty programme lifts the return further.

The platform holds no financial services licence and therefore falls into the high-risk category. On top of this comes a going-concern note in the 2024 accounts, with negative equity at operator level. The buyback promise comes from the originator and is not external protection. Hive5 is therefore suitable only for experienced investors willing to carry that risk consciously.

Pros
  • A high average return and short terms
  • A good Trustpilot rating (4.4) and fast support
  • Immediate repayment on some products
Cons
  • No financial services licence (high risk)
  • Going-concern note in 2024 with negative equity
  • The buyback is an originator obligation, with no secondary market
13
Maclear
National / other supervision2,4
Return: up to 15.6%*From: €50Buyback: PartialHQ: 🇨🇭 Switzerland

Maclear is a Swiss stock corporation and finances secured business loans to small and medium-sized companies in more than 15 countries. With a 4.6 it has one of the highest Trustpilot ratings in the comparison and the most extensive bonus stack, across cashback, welcome and loyalty bonus.

On regulation, precision matters: Maclear is a member of a Swiss self-regulatory organisation (PolyReg) and follows FINMA standards, but it is not FINMA-regulated and holds no EU, MiFID or ECSP licence. Instead of a classic buyback there is a segregated, externally audited reserve fund, plus the collateral on the projects. So far there has been only one default, fully recovered, which is a look back and not a guarantee.

Pros
  • Very high Trustpilot rating (4.6)
  • Externally audited reserve fund plus secured projects
  • Extensive, combinable bonus stack
Cons
  • Only a Swiss SRO, no EU/MiFID/ECSP licence
  • Higher minimum investment (€50 per project)
  • Secondary market with a 2.5% fee and low liquidity
14
Lonvest
Unlicensed2,1
Return: approx. 11.5%*From: €50Buyback: PartialHQ: 🇭🇷 Croatia

Lonvest is a small, unregulated P2P platform from Zagreb that launched in 2023 and belongs to the Ukrainian-rooted lending group Space Crew Finance. It collects euros from European investors and passes them on to three lenders from the same group in Malaysia, Singapore and Mexico. The average rate is 11.5% according to the platform, and investing is done exclusively via Auto Invest from €50 with terms of 1 to 12 months.

An important point for context: Lonvest has no licence and says so openly in its own FAQ. There is no deposit guarantee scheme and no investor compensation. The advertised 90-day buyback guarantee is, in the contract, only a right of the lender, and an obligation exists according to the terms only in the event of its insolvency. The additional group guarantee appears only in marketing and has no contractual text and no named guarantor. There is no secondary market, and an early exit costs all accrued interest.

Pros
  • Around 11.5% interest, entry from just €50
  • No documented payout delay to investors since 2023
  • No fees, client funds contractually segregated
Cons
  • Unregulated, no licence and no deposit guarantee scheme
  • Buyback only as a right of the lender, group guarantee without contractual text
  • No secondary market, early exit only at the cost of all interest
15
Revest
Unlicensed2,1
Return: approx. 13.5-16%*From: €10Buyback: PartialHQ: 🇭🇷 Croatia

Revest is the in-house funding channel of a Kazakh lending group. The platform is based in Croatia, collects euros from European investors and passes them on to lenders that belong to the same owner as the platform itself. It offers 13.5% on 25-day consumer loans and 14 to 16% on business loans with terms of 1 to 24 months, and investing is done exclusively via a portfolio automation from €10.

An important point for context: Revest is not regulated and states in its own footer that the operator is not authorised as an investment firm and does not provide investment services. There is no deposit guarantee scheme and no investor compensation. The real catch is the self-dealing: the platform, all three lenders, the buyback obligation and the collections belong to a single person. The business loans finance the group's own holding, so an independent counterparty is missing entirely.

Pros
  • 13.5 to 16% interest, entry from just €10
  • Secondary market at face value and very short 25-day consumer loans
  • An unusual amount of published data, including lender reports
Cons
  • Unregulated, no licence and no deposit guarantee scheme
  • Self-dealing: one owner controls the platform, all lenders and the buyback
  • Lenders operationally negative, GMoney default rate almost 19% in 2024, active only since December 2025
16
8lends
Unlicensed1,9
Return: approx. 22%*From: 100 USDC (approx. €100)Buyback: PartialHQ: 🌐 Offshore (Canada / SVG)

8lends is a crypto crowdlending platform. You invest only in the stablecoin USDC on the Base network via a self-custodied wallet; investing in euros is not possible. It finances business loans to small and medium-sized firms worldwide, with live-observed returns of around 22% and terms of 4 to 16 months.

The core of the risk is the lack of regulation: 8lends holds no ECSP, MiFID or banking licence, only AML registrations (FINTRAC in Canada, PolyReg SRO in Switzerland). There is no deposit guarantee scheme and no investor protection, and the total-loss risk is stated expressly in the T&Cs. The advertised 100% capital protection and the buyback commitment appear only in the marketing and have no basis in the binding T&Cs.

Pros
  • A high observed return (around 22% p.a.)
  • Smart-contract audits from CertiK and CyberScope
  • No platform fee for investors
Cons
  • No financial licence, an offshore operator setup
  • Inconsistent operator details in its own documents
  • Buyback and 100% capital protection only in the marketing, not in the T&Cs
  • Added crypto risk plus an illiquid reward token (8LNDS)

License types explained: what protects you – and what doesn't?

Not every license is worth the same. For me it's the most important selection criterion – and the reason I gradually shift my capital toward regulated platforms.

License typeWhat it gives youWhat it does not protect
ECSP (EU 2020/1503)EU-wide standardised investor protection with information and vetting duties – the P2P gold standardNo deposit insurance, the invested capital stays at risk
MiFID II investment firmEU investor compensation up to €20,000 for certain platform breachesDoes not apply to normal loan defaults
Full banking licenseDeposit insurance up to €100,000 on cash depositsNot on capital invested in loans
National license (e.g. EFSA)National supervision of the companyCheck reach and EU passporting case by case
Swiss SROSelf-regulation to FINMA standards in the non-bank sectorNo EU license, no EU investor protection
No licenseNo regulatory protectionHighest risk – for me only a small, deliberate addition

Who owes me my money in the end?

The decisive question in P2P is rarely the return for me, but the counterparty. On some platforms I lend directly to a project, on others I buy a claim the platform assigns to me. Depending on the model, my capital hangs on the creditworthiness of the end borrower, the lender or the platform itself. That is exactly what decides what happens when something goes wrong – not the advertised interest rate.

How I vet a platform before I invest

  • Is the license actually in the official ESMA register or the national regulator's register – or is only the parent company regulated?
  • Does the license match the actual business (ECSP for crowdlending, MiFID for securities)?
  • Who is my contractual counterparty: the platform, a lender or a special-purpose vehicle (SPV)?
  • How does the buyback work – and who stands behind it if a lender defaults?
  • Is there a secondary market, and how quickly can I access my money in an emergency?
  • Is the operator profitable, and how high is the concentration risk on a single lender or country?

How I use P2P in my own portfolio

For me P2P is a deliberately small, broadly diversified building block – not the foundation. I share my full P2P portfolio live and transparently via P2P Dash, including every platform, amount and the return. Three ground rules I stick to:

  • Only spare capital whose partial or total loss I could handle – P2P is not a savings account and has no deposit insurance.
  • Diversify broadly across many platforms and lenders, instead of chasing the highest number. I deliberately cap unregulated, young high-yield providers.
  • Capital shifts toward regulation: I grow core positions on EU-licensed platforms step by step, and tend to pull out of unregulated ones.

All current bonus and cashback promotions I use myself are bundled on my P2P bonus page.

Frequently asked questions about P2P loans

What are P2P loans?

P2P loans (peer-to-peer) are arranged directly between investors and borrowers via an online platform, without a traditional bank issuing the loans. As an investor you buy shares in these loans and earn interest – but you carry the default risk. This comparison looks at P2P from the investor's side, i.e. as an investment, not as a way to get your own loan.

Are P2P loans safe?

P2P is not a savings account. There is no deposit insurance, and partial or total loss is possible. A financial license lowers the risk through supervision and duties, but does not protect against individual loan defaults. Diversifying broadly, starting small and favouring regulated platforms can limit the risk – but not eliminate it.

Which P2P platforms are regulated?

In this comparison, EU financial licenses are held by, among others, Mintos and Debitum (MiFID II, Latvia) as well as Lendermarket (ECSP, Ireland), Afranga (ECSP, Bulgaria) and LANDE (ECSP, Latvia). For Bondora Go & Grow and Monefit it is not the platform itself that is regulated, but the parent or lender company. Providers like Esketit, Hive5, 8lends or Loanch have no financial-services license of their own. The current status is always shown as a badge in the table.

What is an ECSP license?

ECSP stands for European Crowdfunding Service Provider (EU Regulation 2020/1503). It sets uniform rules for crowdlending – such as information sheets, a suitability test and a reflection period – and is regarded as the gold standard for regulating P2P platforms. It does not replace deposit insurance, however.

Are P2P loans covered by deposit insurance?

No. Capital invested in loans is not covered by the statutory €100,000 deposit insurance. That only applies to cash deposits at a bank with a banking license. With P2P you carry the loans' default risk yourself.

What does a buyback guarantee mean in P2P?

A buyback guarantee means the lender repurchases a defaulted loan after a certain overdue period – often after 60 days. Important: it is an obligation of the lender, not external insurance. If the lender itself fails, the guarantee can come to nothing.

How is income from P2P loans taxed?

Interest income from P2P is generally taxable as capital income in Germany. Many platforms do not withhold German tax, so you report the income yourself via Anlage KAP. This is not tax advice – if in doubt, a tax advisor can help.

How much should you invest in P2P?

P2P is one of the riskier asset classes. I only use a small part of my total wealth – money whose loss I could stomach – and diversify broadly across several platforms and lenders. This is not investment advice, but my personal approach.

How do I get started with P2P loans?

A good approach is a small start on a regulated platform, a broad auto-invest diversification and gradually increasing once you know the ropes. Watch the license, buyback terms, fees – and above all the question of who actually owes you the money.

Debitum
Current offer
To provider